About the Colony House Motor Lodge
The Colony House Motor Lodge was the brainchild of our parents who were brothers. One brother was the President of Graves Humphries, a wholesale hardware business. He heard multiple complaints from his vendors that there weren’t adequate, reasonably priced hotel rooms in South Roanoke near his office. The other brother was president and owner of a cinder block plant in Roanoke. Together they bought property in what was then considered rural, undeveloped countryside outside of the city. Constructed from cinder bricks from the plant, Colony House opened in 1957. The city grew and enveloped us so that we are now nestled into the side of a mountain and surrounded by the fashionable South Roanoke neighborhood. It is with great pride that we have kept it in the family and continue to operate it today.